XFL reboots for 2020


Creative Commons

Seattle Dragons and D.C Defenders warm up before their game at Audi Field on Feb. 8, 2020.

Zac-Richard Akuamoa, Staff Writer

Two Sundays ago , the XFL re-debuted after almost 20 years in limbo. The XFL, owned by WWE CEO Vince McMahon, is a professional football league with eight teams across eight different cities. The season will consist of 10 regular season games that will be played from February 8th to April 10th, with a championship game on April 26th.

As of now, there are eight teams in the XFL and they’ll be playing at the following venues.

  • Dallas Renegades (Globe Life Park, former home of MLB’s Texas Rangers)
  • D.C. Defenders (Audi Field)
  • Houston Roughnecks (TDECU Stadium)
  • Los Angeles Wildcats (Dignity Health Sports Park)
  • New York Guardians (MetLife Stadium)
  • St. Louis BattleHawks (The Dome at America’s Center)
  • Seattle Dragons (CenturyLink Field)
  • Tampa Bay Vipers (Raymond James Stadium)                                                                                                       

The league looks to fill in the void left by the NFL after the Super Bowl. The league has a variety of rules and regulations that are different from the NFL’s. First off, kickoffs take place at the 30 yard line, compared to the 35 yard line in the NFL. Players will line up between the other 30 and 35 yard line and won’t be able to move until the returner catches the ball. This move was made to increase player safety.

The XFL’s main focus is a faster pace of play. The play clock won’t stop after incomplete passes or after a player goes out of bounds. Coaches will only have two timeouts per half, compared to the NFL’s three. Halftime will only be about 10 minutes. The XFL will allow two forward passes in one play, as long as the passes are completed behind the line of scrimmage, which seems to be the unorthodox new rule.

Some notable coaches are New York’s Kevin Gilbride, who  won two Super Bowls with the New York Giants, Dallas’ Bob Stoops, who led the Oklahoma Sooners to a BCS National Championship in 2000, and also won 10 Big 12 conference championships during his tenure. Los Angeles’ WInston Moss, who is the only defensive minded coach out of the group, as he spent his career in the NFL as a defensive specialist coach with the Seattle Seahawks, New Orleans Saints, and Green Bay Packers.

Some notable players are  Quarterback Cardale Jones(D.C.), who led Ohio State to a BCS National Championship win in 2015, Quarterback Landry Jones(Dallas), who played for the Pittsburgh Steelers, Jacksonville Jaguars, and Oakland Raiders, and most intriguingly, Safety Kenny Robinson(St. Louis), who decided to forgo his remaining NCAA eligibility  at West Virginia to play in the XFL.

With all the teams set and the and the season underway, only time will tell how successful the XFL will be.